Jasper Franklin: 2022/23 Rising Star Series Winner

Jess Del Frari won the final Rising Star Series Heat at Goulburn on February 16, saluting the judge with Bobby’s Secret for trainer Melissa Harrison.

Despite placing 2nd in the final Heat, Jasper Franklin extended his pointscore and has been crowned the 2022/23 Rising Star Series Champion.

Franklin accumulated 33 series points over the 16 Heats, which included a victory at Taree on December 18th.

“It was one of my goals to win this Series after trying hard to compete last season but didn’t have much luck,” Franklin said.

The 19-year-old ensured he had every chance to win and travelling was not an issue.

“I was having to travel 6 hours or more from Coffs Harbour to Scone, Tamworth and Warwick Farm,” Franklin said.

“After the first two heats I saw myself in a winnable position but was mindful that to beat the likes of Dylan Gibbons and Tyler Schiller that I would have to travel a bit.

“Once I won the Taree heat (December 18th) I started to believe I could win this.”

The Rising Star Series, which was launched in 1999/2000, is open to NSW and ACT indentured apprentice riders and has an honour roll including Jenny Duggan, Mikayla Weir, Andrew Adkins and Sam Clipperton.

Racing NSW Head Jockey Coach, Corey Brown, said the Rising Star Series is a good launching pad for apprentice jockeys to further their careers.

“I think it’s a really great concept for the kids,” Brown said.

“It’s pleasing that they all get involved and bounce off one another throughout the Series.

“The feedback that I’ve had from all apprentices this year has been promising and it’s just been a great competition for all riders.”

Attached is the Final pointscore and updated Honour Roll.

Team Thoroughbred NSW Training Academy – Registered Training Organisation 45565